The Lemont Area Historical Society (LAHS) has generously offered to share photos and accompanying information with Patch readers each week, depicting people, places and things from the village’s storied past.
This week, the LAHS shares a photo taken at quarry No.1, also known as Amato's Quarry, circa 1950s. According to the historical society, the quarry was a common destination for Lemont residents trying to beat the heat during the long, hot summers when air conditioning was not readily available.
Although swimming is not allowed in the quarries at the present time, Heritage Quarries Recreation Area is available for biking, hiking, fishing, boating (paddle, oar and electric trolling motors only) and enjoying nature. The access road to visit the recreation area is across the street from Turnabout Pizza at 1000 Main St.
For more information on the nearly 100-acre Heritage Quarries Recreation Area, click here.
Discover more about Lemont history at the historical society museum in the Old Stone Church at 306 Lemont St. The museum is open to the public and welcomes visitors. For more information, visit the LAHS web site at http://www.lemonthistorical.org/ or contact email@example.com.
The Lemont Area Historical Society also invites readers to share their photos of Lemont’s past, to be added to the LAHS archives.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - -
There are plenty of ways to keep up on Lemont news: