The Lemont Area Historical Society (LAHS) has generously offered to share photos and accompanying information with Patch readers each week, depicting people, places and things from the village’s storied past.
This week, the LAHS shares vintage photos of Tom’s Place, which were taken in the 1930s when "Big Tom" Laketa ran his business in the building that presently houses the La Dolce Vita restaurant at 107 Stephen Street.
According to the historical society, Tom started his business in 1924 in a small building where the Hayes Auto Repair shop is presently located, at 105 Stephen Street. Tom’s moved next door to 107 Stephen Street a few years later, and in 1948, moved across the street to its present location.
Tom's Place is still family operated and going strong - 88 years of Laketas and 88 years of Blatz Beer on tap.
The Lemont Area Historical Society invites readers to also share their photos of Lemont’s past, to be added to the LAHS archives.
Discover more about Lemont history at the historical society museum in the Old Stone Church at 306 Lemont St. The museum is open to the public and welcomes visitors. For more information, visit the LAHS web site at http://www.lemonthistorical.org/ or contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - -
There are plenty of ways to keep up on Lemont news: